Clean It Up (MN)
Don't even think about driving in a vehicle with dirty tires if you're in Minnetonka, Minnesota. Driving a filthy vehicle is a misdemeanor and a public nuisance, and you could be fined up to $2,000 if your wheels leave dirt, litter, sticky substances or any other crud on the road.
No Primates Allowed (MA)
If you find yourself transporting a gorilla — yes, a gorilla — make sure you aren't driving in or through Massachusetts. It's illegal to operate a vehicle while a gorilla rides in the backseat.
Gas Up (OH)
It’s illegal to run out of gas in Youngstown, Ohio. Not only will you be left stranded on the side of the road, but you also face the possibility of a fine, so fill up your vehicle’s tank.
Keep It Quiet (KS)
Driving through Kansas? Make sure to keep the noise to a minimum: Screeching your tires can lead to penalties ranging from a $500 fine to up to 30 days in jail. It's not just a state law; multiple cities and towns have their own local ordinances to prevent drivers from making too much noise. Drivers could face hard time if they do anything that causes their tires to skid, squeal, smoke or slide when you accelerate or brake in Derby, Kansas.
Don't Play Games on the Street in Traffic (NC)
Not only is it extremely dangerous, but you could also be arrested in Dunn, North Carolina, for playing games on the street in traffic, so it’s best to host your next game of hopscotch or kickball on the sidewalk. The city also has a traffic law that bans motorists from driving through a cemetery unless you're going there for a service or work.
If You Don't Have Anything Nice to Say... (MD)
You've heard it all your life: If you don't have anything nice to say, don't say anything at all. This saying rings especially true in Rockville, Maryland. If you decide to cruise through this town, make sure you have your vehicle's windows up before you let any expletives fly because in Rockville, it's illegal to swear when you're within earshot of others, even if you're in your own car. Think they're not serious? The penalties range from a $100 fine to 90 days in jail.
To Honk or Not to Honk (NJ, AR)
Have you ever driven in New Jersey and wondered why so many drivers honk at you before passing? Jersey drivers are required by law to do so7. If you're in Little Rock, Arkansas, on the other hand, don't honk after 9 p.m. while passing any establishment that serves cold beverages or sandwiches.
Driving laws may vary from state to state, but one thing remains the same across the country: Operating a vehicle without sufficient insurance coverage is a sure way to incur costly penalties. Mercury Insurance offers a variety of coverage options to protect you and your passengers, your vehicle and the other drivers you encounter no matter where the road may take you.